All about life with a Dylan…

Today, Tomorrow, Yesterday…

Poor Dylan does not understand the difference between the terms “today”, “tomorrow”, and “yesterday”, and I cannot think of a way to explain the concepts to him. I usually tell him that today is right now, while he is awake, and tomorrow is when we get out of bed and eat breakfast.

For instance, last night I told him that Grandma is coming to pick him up tomorrow. Then I asked him when Grandma is coming, and he said “today“. I told him he was incorrect, and asked him the question again, and he answered “tonight!”.  I tried again a few times, until he started answering “Dylan” for all my questions. He seemed to be grasping at straws for the right answer.

When do kids learn the concepts of today, yesterday and tomorrow?

Leave a Reply

